



LEGAL ALERT

EXEMPTION AND SIMPLIFICATION OF PROCEDURES FOR GRANTING TOURIST VISAS

Presidential Decree no. 189/23, of September 29, exempted and simplified the process of granting tourist visas for entry into the Republic of Angola, making it more accessible for foreign visitors.

Presidential Decree 189/23 approves the following measures:

• The exemption from tourist visas for citizens coming from the 98 countries identified in the List of Exempt Countries¹ attached to the Presidential Decree No. 89/23. Citizens exempt from the tourist visa requirement may remain in the Republic of Angola for a period of up to 30 days per entry and 90 days per year. This measure does not exempt them from complying with the applicable formalities at border posts, as well as the possibility of

¹ Africa: Algeria, Botswana, Cape Verde, Eswatini, Equatorial Guinea, Mauritius, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Morocco, Rwanda, Seychelles, Tanzania and Zimbabwe.

Asia: Saudi Arabia, China, South Korea, United Arab Emirates, India, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Qatar, Singapore and East Timor.

Europe: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechia, Cyprus, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Northern Ireland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the Vatican.

America: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Federated States of Micronesia, United States of America, Fiji, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Mexico, Nauru, Niue, New Zealand, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uruguay and Vanuatu.

Caribbean and Pacific: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Cook Islands, Jamaica, Kiribati, Dominican Republic, Saint Lucia, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago.





presenting (i) a passport valid for longer than the period of stay and (ii) an international vaccination certificate, when required²;

• Simplifying the process of obtaining a tourist visa, establishing that the diplomatic and consular missions of the Republic of Angola must adopt a simplified and unbureaucratic service, through administrative mechanisms that guarantee the granting of a tourist visa in no more than three working days. Citizens wishing to obtain a tourist visa to enter Angolan territory must apply to the diplomatic and consular missions of the Republic of Angola or on the official website of the Migration and Foreigners Service, using the appropriate form. The citizen must gather and present, cumulatively, the following documents: (i) a passport valid for more than six months; (ii) a return ticket; and (iii) an international vaccination certificate, when required³.

Presidential Decree 189/23 came into force on September 30, 2023.

Sophie Frazão [+info] Karen Pacheco [+info]

This publication is purely informational and is not meant to be a source of legal advice, nor does it contain a comprehensive review of all aspects of the law and practice referred to. The information contained herein refers to the date of first publication, readers being warned to take legal advice before applying it to specific issues or transactions. The contents of this publication may not be copied, disclosed or distributed in whole or in part without prior consent. For more information please contact us at comunicacao@mlgts.pt.

² Presidential Decree no. 197/23, of October 25, which established the exemption of citizens of countries where there is no risk of transmission of the disease from the obligation to present an international yellow fever vaccination certificate when entering national territory.

³ Idem.